

+91.11.25759026

info@shakun.com info@shakun.co.in www.shakun.com

**SINCE 1976** 

**MOTOR VEHICLES ACT** 

-COPY OF-RESOLUTION Dated 28<sup>th</sup> July, 2021 (Published in the Gazette of India on 29<sup>th</sup> July, 2021)

-In exercise of the powers conferred under Section 215 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 and in supersession of Resolution No. RT-23018/3/88-T dated 16<sup>th</sup> May, 1991 as modified from time to time, the Chairman, National Road Safety Council is pleased to re-constitute the Council as under:

S.No.	Particulars	No.	Brief Remarks
1	2	3	4
A.	Official Members:-		
1.	Minister for the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways	1	Chairman
2.	Minister of State for the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways	1 1	Vice-Chairman
3.	Ministers- in -charge of Road Transport of all States/UTs	31	Members
4.	DGs/IGs of all States/UTs	36	Members
5.	Representatives from Central Ministries/Departments	9	Members
	i. M/o Home Affairs,		
	ii. M/o Education,		
	iii. M/o Railways,		
	iv. M/o Petroleum & Natural Gas,		
	v. M/o Heavy Industries,		
	vi. M/o Environment and Forests & Climate Change		
	vii. M/o Health & Family Welfare		
	viii. M/o Urban Development		
	ix. NITI Aayog		
6	Secretary, M/O Road Transport & Highways	1	Member
7	Chairman, National Highways Authority of India	1	Member
8	Director General (Road Development) & Special Secretary M/O Road Transport & Highways	, 1	Member
9	Joint Secretary (Transport), Ministry of Road Transport & Highways	z 1	Member

## В **Non-Official Co-Opted Members**

-2-

## 10 Members Individuals nominated by Minister for Road Transport and 13 Highways:

- (i) Shri S.C. Nagpal, 20 Chanan Singh Park (FF), Kirby Place, Delhi Cantt. New Delhi-110010
- Shri Pyare Khan, Chairman & MD of Ashimi (ii) Group of Companies, Nagpur, MH
- Dr. Kamal Soi, 2208, Phase 2, Urban Estate, (iii) Dugri Road, Ludhiana, Punjab
- (iv) Shri Ravindra W. Kaskhedikar, Secretary, Janakrosh, 297, Abhyankar Nagar, Nagpur-440010
- Shri Ravinder Tiwari, Village-Badhka, Post-(v) Raiwadeeh, Paalm Jharkhand Prakalp, Maharashtra
- Shri R. N. Prashar, 191, Sector 4, Mansadevi (vi) Complex, Panchkula, Haryana-134114
- Shri Rajesh Ramkrishn Wagh, President, Jeevan (vii) Surksha Prakalp, Nagpur, Maharashtra
- Dr. Nirmal Jain, 128, Vasundhara Colonv, (viii) Tonk, Road, Jaipur (Rajasthan)
- Advocate, Natraj Sharma, No. 23, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, (ix) Volety Peral Appt., Hanuman Nagar, Bangalore, Karnataka.
- Shri Ajit Mahadevrao Gopechand, Amrutapath, (X) Rungnalaya, near Railway Station, Nanded, Maharashtra
- (xi) Shri Amar Srivastava, Room No. 202, C-2305, Sushant Lok, Gurguan (Harvana)
- (xii) Shri Piyush Tiwari, CEO, Save Life Foundation, D 10 First Floor, Harsha Ln, Nizamuddin East, New Delhi. Delhi 110013
- Ms. Nivruti Rai, MD, Intel India, Country Head, (xiii) Intel India and VP, Intel Foundry Services at Intel Corporation, Bangalore, Karnataka, India
- 11 Government Institutions related to Road Construction, Road 8 Members Safety and Insurance:
  - i) Director, Central Road Research Institute, New Delhi
  - ii) Director, Central Institute of Road Transport, Pune
  - iii) Chairman, Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India, Hyderabad.
  - iv) Chairman, Life Insurance Corporation, Mumbai
  - v) Director, Automotive Research Association of India, Pune
  - vi) Chief Commissioner, Railway Safety, New Delhi
  - vii) Director, Vehicle Research Development Establishment, Ahemednagar
  - viii) Director, I.I.P. Dehradun, Uttarakhand

12 Associations related with Road Safety:

Members

7

- i) President/Secretary, Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers, New Delhi
- ii) President/Secretary, Automobile Association of India, New Delhi
- iii) Executive Director, Association of State Road Transport Undertakings, New Delhi
- iv) President, Automotive Component Manufacturers Association, New Delhi
- v) President, All India Motor Transport Congress, New Delhi
- vi) All India Confederation of Goods Vehicle Owners Association, New Delhi
- vii) President, All India Federation of Motor Vehicles Department Technical Executive Officers Associations, Karnataka
- 2. Terms of References and functions of the Committee shall be:
  - (i) To advise on all matters pertaining to planning and coordination of policies, standards of safety in the Road Transport Sector;
  - (ii) To formulate and recommend road safety programmes for implementation by State Road Safety Organizations as also other State Agencies in-charge of road transportation;
  - (iii) To suggest areas for research and development to improve safety aspects in the road transport sector including maintenance of statistics of road accidents and their analysis;
  - (iv) To generally oversee and monitor at Central Level, the road safety measures undertaken by States/UTs.
- 3. The Council shall decide the procedure and methodology to be adopted for its functioning.

4. The Council will hold its meeting at least one a year. TA/DA shall be paid to the Non-Official Coopted Members at Serial NO. (10) for the journey undertaken by air by economy class in Indian Airlines or actual whichever is less.

5. The tenure of the above Co-opted institutional/individual members will be for a period of two years from the date of issue of this Resolution.

6. An Executive Committee will also be constituted under the Chairmanship of Secretary (RT&H) and members from different organizations dealing with Road Safety issues viz. Ministries/Departments, Transport/Police Department of all States and other agencies to ensure effective implementation of the recommendation of NRSC. Director (RS)/Deputy Secretary (RS) will act as member-secretary of the Committee. The Executive Committee may also be authorized to form sub-committees, if required and co-opted additional members, wherever necessary. The chairman of the committee may co-opt any other subject expert as a member of the Committee.

Sd/-(Amit Varadan) Jt. Secy.

No. RT-25014/1/2015-RS Issued by: Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (Road Safety Cell) <u>New Delhi</u>

\*\* \*\* \*\*

## -3-